Leifheit Foundation promotes cancer research

Marcus Klüssendorf, Uwe Menger, Dr. Florian Rothweiler, Ingo Nehrbaß

The G. and I. Leifheit Foundation Nassau supports the worldwide unique collection of therapy-resistant cancer cells, the “Resistant Cancer Cell Line Collection” (RCCL-Collection), over three years with a grant of 250,000 euros annually. The Managing Director of the G. and I. Leifheit Foundation Nassau, Ingo Nehrbaß, is pleased to be able to make the announcement during the symbolic cheque presentation on 9 July 2021 at the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer. The funding commitment is made quite in accordance with Günter Leifheits’ personal philosophy: “It must serve people!”

The RCCL Collection is maintained and continuously expanded by the Interdisciplinary Laboratory for Paediatric Tumour and Virus Research (Prof. Jindrich Cinatl) in collaboration with the University of Kent (Prof. Martin Michaelis) (https://research.kent.ac.uk/industrial-biotechnology-centre/the-resistant-cancer-cell-line-rccl-collection/). The research activities of Prof. Cinatl’s working group take place in the Dr. Petra Joh-Haus of the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer.

With more than 2,500 therapy-resistant cancer cells, the RCCL Collection represents a unique model for (paediatric) cancer research worldwide. The cells from the RCCL Collection help to investigate molecular resistance mechanisms in tumours, identify new active substances and thus overcome resistance. Effects of already approved substances from other medical fields are also tested against tumour cells with the help of resistant cells from the RCCL Collection (drug repurposing). The aim of this research is to find substances that – with as few side effects as possible – are effective against resistant cancer cells where other therapeutic agents fail. In the corona pandemic, cells from the RCCL Collection are also used in research on SARS-CoV-2, thus -as a positive side effect- making an important worldwide scientific research contribution.

“The scientific presentation about the importance of the RCCL Collection for cancer research and its global reach, as well as the interactive exchange with researchers, represented by Dr Florian Rothweiler, completely convinced us,” said Ingo Nehrbaß during his visit to Frankfurt.

The partnership with the G. and I. Leifheit Foundation together with their generous support is of great importance to us. This exemplary support helps us with the further development of our goal to be able to cure 100 percent of children and adolescents suffering from cancer.  Since children are our future, the research of the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer focuses on childhood cancer as a first step. In successful cases the applicability in adults is an immediate consequence.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to the Board of Directors of the G. u. I. Leifheit Foundation for this extremely significant support.

 

Contact

Frankfurt Foundation
for children with cancer
Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Phone +49 (0)69 678665-0
Fax +49 (0)69 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Donation account

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity shopping

Make a good deed out of every online purchase and support the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer. It's easy to do so via Gooding or AmazonSmile.

Gooding

Here's how Gooding works:

AmazonSmile

Leifheit-Stiftung fördert die Krebsforschung

Marcus Klüssendorf, Uwe Menger, Dr. Florian Rothweiler, Ingo Nehrbaß

Die G. und I. Leifheit-Stiftung Nassau unterstützt die weltweit einzigartige Sammlung von therapieresistenten Krebszellen, die „Resistant Cancer Cell Line Collection“ (RCCL-Collection), über drei Jahre mit einem Förderbetrag von jeweils 250.000 Euro. Der Geschäftsführer der G. und I. Leifheit-Stiftung Nassau, Ingo Nehrbaß, freut sich, die Mitteilung anlässlich der symbolischen Scheckübergabe am 9. Juli 2021 bei der Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder überbringen zu dürfen. Die Förderzusage erfolgt entsprechend der Philosophie Günter Leifheits: “Es muss den Menschen dienen!”

Die RCCL Collection wird vom Interdisziplinären Labor für pädiatrische Tumor- und Virusforschung (Prof. Jindrich Cinatl) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Kent (Prof. Martin Michaelis) unterhalten und stetig ausgebaut (https://research.kent.ac.uk/industrial-biotechnology-centre/the-resistant-cancer-cell-line-rccl-collection/). Die Forschungstätigkeiten der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Cinatl finden im Dr. Petra Joh-Haus der Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder statt.

Mit über 2.500 therapieresistenten Krebszellen stellt die RCCL Collection ein weltweit einmaliges Modell für die (Kinder-)Krebsforschung dar. Die Zellen aus der RCCL Collection helfen dabei, molekulare Resistenzmechanismen in Tumoren zu untersuchen, neue Wirkstoffe zu identifizieren und dadurch Resistenzen zu überwinden. Auch bereits zugelassene Stoffe aus anderen Medizinfeldern werden mithilfe resistenter Zellen aus der RCCL Collection auf ihre Wirkung gegen Tumorzellen überprüft (Drug Repurposing). Ziel dieser Forschungsarbeit ist es, Substanzen zu finden, die – bei möglichst geringen Nebenwirkungen – gegen resistente Krebszellen wirken, wo andere Therapeutika versagen. In der Coronapandemie kommen Zellen aus der RCCL Collection auch bei Forschungsarbeiten zu SARS-CoV-2 zum Einsatz und leisten somit „nebenbei” einen wichtigen globalen Forschungsbeitrag.

“Die wissenschaftliche Präsentation über die Bedeutung der RCCL Collection für die Krebsforschung und die globale Reichweite der Sammlung sowie der interaktive Austausch mit den Forschern, vertreten durch Herrn Dr. Florian Rothweiler, haben uns überzeugt”, sagt Ingo Nehrbaß bei seinem Besuch in Frankfurt.

Die Partnerschaft mit der G. und I. Leifheit-Stiftung sowie deren sehr großzügige Unterstützung bedeutet uns enorm viel. Diese beispielgebende Förderung hilft uns bei der Weiterentwicklung unseres Weges mit dem Ziel, eines Tage 100 Prozent der an Krebs erkrankten Kinder und Jugendlichen heilen zu können. Da wir bei Kindern über unsere Zukunft sprechen, fokussiert sich die Forschung der Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder im ersten Schritt auf den Krebs im Kindesalter. Die Anwendbarkeit in Erfolgsfällen bei Erwachsenen ist eine unmittelbare Folge.

Wir bedanken uns sehr herzlich beim Vorstand der G. u. I. Leifheit-Stiftung für diese überaus wichtige Förderung.

Kontakt

Frankfurter Stiftung
für krebskranke Kinder

Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Tel. 069 678665-0
Fax 069 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Spendenkonto

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity-Shopping

Aus jedem Online-Einkauf eine gute Tat machen und die Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder unterstützen. Über Gooding oder AmazonSmile geht das ganz einfach.

Gooding

So funktioniert Gooding:

AmazonSmile