Blood cancer: When drugs work

New marker found for the treatment of leukaemia patients

Patients suffering from acute myeloid leukaemia (AML) – a certain form of blood cancer – are treated with the help of chemotherapy. Often, the active substances Decitabine and Azacitidine – so-called DNA methyltransferase inhibitors – are used for older patients because those affected cannot tolerate intensive chemotherapy. But only some of the AML patients respond to this treatment. However, it is not yet possible to estimate which patients will benefit from these agents and which will not before starting therapy.

Supposedly equivalent drugs: important difference found

Recently, a multidisciplinary international team with cooperation partners from Germany, the USA and Great Britain carried out a study on this problem, which was funded by the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer and the association Hilfe für krebskranke Kinder Frankfurt. The scientists were able to show that the enzyme SAMHD1 converts the activated form of Decitabine back into its inactive initial form. This prevents therapeutic activity.

Interestingly, the effect of Azacitidine is not influenced by SAMHD1. The results, published under the title “Selective inactivation of hypomethylating agents by SAMHD1 provides a rationale for therapeutic stratification in AML” in the renowned journal Nature Communications, show that there are significant differences between these drugs, which are often considered equivalent. Furthermore, the amount of SAMHD1 in AML cells as a marker could predict how sensitive they are to Decitabine. This is of potential clinical importance.

Frankfurt scientist in international research team

The research was led by Prof. Jindrich Cinatl from the University Hospital Frankfurt and Prof. Oliver Keppler from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich. Numerous research groups from the Goethe University Frankfurt as well as scientists from the universities of Göttingen, Greifswald, Munich, Münster, Cambridge and Kent in Great Britain and Yale/USA were involved. The first author of the study, Prof. Thomas Oellerich from Goethe University, said of the results: “There is now justified hope that patients will benefit from these new research results in the foreseeable future.” Prof Oellerich holds a professorship of the German Consortium for Translational Cancer Research. Together with the University of Mainz, the University Hospital is a site of this health centre, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Contact

Frankfurt Foundation
for children with cancer
Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Phone +49 (0)69 678665-0
Fax +49 (0)69 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Donation account

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity shopping

Make a good deed out of every online purchase and support the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer. It's easy to do so via Gooding or AmazonSmile.

Gooding

Here's how Gooding works:

AmazonSmile

Blutkrebs: Wann Wirkstoffe wirken

Neuer Marker für die Behandlung von Leukämiepatienten gefunden

Patienten, die an einer akuten myeloischen Leukämie (AML) – einer bestimmten Form des Blutkrebses – leiden, werden mithilfe der Chemotherapie behandelt. Häufig werden für ältere Patienten die Wirkstoffe Decitabin und Azacitidin – sogenannte DNA-Methyltransferase-Inhibitoren – verwendet, weil die Betroffenen keine intensive Chemotherapie vertragen. Doch nur ein Teil der AML-Patienten spricht auf diese Behandlung an. Es ist allerdings bisher vor Therapiebeginn nicht möglich, abzuschätzen, welche Patienten von diesen Wirkstoffen profitieren werden und welche nicht.

Vermeintlich gleichwertige Wirkstoffe: wichtiger Unterschied gefunden

Jüngst hat zu diesem Problem ein multidisziplinäres internationales Team mit Kooperationspartnern aus Deutschland, den USA und Großbritannien eine Studie durchgeführt, die von der Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder und vom Verein Hilfe für krebskranke Kinder Frankfurt gefördert wurde. Die Wissenschaftler konnten zeigen, dass das Enzym SAMHD1 die aktivierte Form von Decitabin in ihre inaktive Ausgangsform zurücküberführt. Das verhindert eine therapeutische Aktivität.

Interessanterweise wird die Wirkung von Azacitidin nicht durch SAMHD1 beeinflusst. Die Ergebnisse, die unter dem Titel „Selective inactivation of hypomethylating agents by SAMHD1 provides a rationale for therapeutic stratification in AML“ in der renommierten Fachzeitschrift Nature Communications veröffentlich wurden, zeigen, dass es bedeutende Unterschiede zwischen diesen häufig als gleichwertig betrachteten Arzneistoffen gibt. Darüber hinaus könnte die SAMHD1-Menge in den AML-Zellen als Marker vorhersagen, wie empfindlich diese für Decitabin sind. Dies ist von potentiell klinischer Bedeutung.

Frankfurter Wissenschaftler in internationalem Forscherteam

Die Forschungsarbeit wurde geleitet von Prof. Jindrich Cinatl vom Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt und Prof. Oliver Keppler von der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Beteiligt waren zahlreiche Arbeitsgruppen der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt sowie Wissenschaftler der Universitäten Göttingen, Greifswald, München, Münster, Cambridge und Kent in Großbritannien sowie Yale/USA. Der Erstautor der Studie, Prof. Thomas Oellerich von der Goethe-Universität, sagte zu den Ergebnissen: „Es besteht jetzt die berechtigte Hoffnung, dass in absehbarer Zeit Patienten von diesen neuen Forschungsergebnissen profitieren werden.“ Prof. Oellerich hält eine Professur des Deutschen Konsortiums für Translationale Krebsforschung. Das Universitätsklinikum ist zusammen mit der Universität Mainz ein Standort dieses Gesundheitszentrums, das vom Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung gefördert wird.

Kontakt

Frankfurter Stiftung
für krebskranke Kinder

Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Tel. 069 678665-0
Fax 069 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Spendenkonto

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity-Shopping

Aus jedem Online-Einkauf eine gute Tat machen und die Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder unterstützen. Über Gooding oder AmazonSmile geht das ganz einfach.

Gooding

So funktioniert Gooding:

AmazonSmile