Skip to main content

The history of the Resistant Cancer Cell Line (RCCL) Collection (Part 2/4)

Therapy resistance is the biggest obstacle to the treatment of cancer. In many paediatric and adolescent cancers, drugs initially respond well but may stop working during the course of treatment. The consequences are treatment failure and – in the worst case – the death of the child. Professor Jindrich Cinatl, Head of the Interdisciplinary Laboratory for Tumour and Virus Research (IDL), is very keen to find out the reasons for this resistance. Since 1986, he and his team have been working on understanding why cancer therapies fail and developing treatment options for patients for whom no effective therapy is currently available.

To this end, Professor Cinatl began to establish resistance models for childhood cancers back in the 1980s. Over time, this has resulted in the Resistant Cancer Cell Line (RCCL) Collection, which today consists of over 2,500 drug-adapted cancer cell lines.

While the original focus was exclusively on paediatric models, the RCCL Collection now also includes models of cancers that occur in adults. It has been shown that comparing the mechanisms occurring in adult tumours significantly promotes an understanding of the resistance mechanisms in paediatric cancer.

The cell bank enables research into the efficacy of existing drug groups based on individual biomarkers, as well as existing drugs that are not used in cancer therapies. The cells are stored at around minus 196° Celsius in special cryo-nitrogen tanks. Together with Professor Martin Michaelis, who has been working at the University of Kent (Canterbury, UK) since 2011 and (again) in the Interdisciplinary Laboratory at the Dr Petra Joh House of the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer since 2023, he is researching the causes of resistance and new treatment options using the resistant cancer cell lines.

In addition to the research groups of Professor Cinatl and Professor Michaelis, more than 120 academic and commercial institutions worldwide use cells from the RCCL Collection. These include the Broad Institute, the Sanger Institute, the German Cancer Research Centre, the Institute for Cancer Research in the UK and the Karolinska Institute in Sweden, as well as major pharmaceutical companies such as Ely Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, AbbVie, Servier and Merck. As a result, the RCCL Collection enables research in numerous research groups around the world that would not be possible without it.

The Interdisciplinary Laboratory for Tumor and Virus Research – How it all began (Part 1/4)

Contact

Frankfurt Foundation
for children with cancer
Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Phone +49 (0)69 678665-0
Fax +49 (0)69 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Donation account

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity shopping

Make a good deed out of every online purchase and support the Frankfurt Foundation for Children with Cancer. It's easy to do so via Gooding

Gooding

Here's how Gooding works:
Jubiläumslogo

Skip to main content

Die Geschichte der Resistant Cancer Cell Line (RCCL) Collection (Teil 2/4)

Die größte Hürde zur Behandlung von Krebserkrankungen stellen Therapieresistenzen dar. Bei vielen Krebserkrankungen bei Kindern und Jugendlichen sprechen Medikamente erst gut an, können aber im Laufe der Behandlung aufhören, zu wirken. Die Konsequenzen sind Therapieversagen und – im schlimmsten Fall – der Tod des Kindes. Die Gründe für diese Resistenzen herauszufinden, ist dem Leiter des Interdisziplinären Labors für Tumor- und Virusforschung (IDL), Professor Jindrich Cinatl, ein großes Anliegen. So arbeitet er bereits seit 1986 mit seinem Team daran zu verstehen, warum Krebstherapien versagen und entwickelt Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für Patienten, für die bisher keine wirksame Therapie zur Verfügung steht.

Zu diesem Zweck begann Professor Cinatl bereits in den 1980er Jahren damit, Resistenzmodelle für kindliche Krebsarten zu etablieren. Im Laufe der Zeit ist daraus die Resistant Cancer Cell Line (RCCL) Collection entstanden, die heute aus über 2.500 wirkstoffadaptierten Krebszelllinien besteht.

Lag der Schwerpunkt ursprünglich ausschließlich auf pädiatrischen Modellen, beinhaltet die RCCL Collection in der Zwischenzeit auch Modelle zu Krebserkrankungen, die bei Erwachsenen vorkommen. Es hat sich herausgestellt, dass durch den Vergleich der bei Erwachsenentumoren vorkommenden Mechanismen ein Verständnis der Resistenzmechanismen bei kindlichem Krebs deutlich befördert wird.

Die Zellbank ermöglicht die Forschung an der Wirksamkeit vorhandener Wirkstoffgruppen auf Basis individuelle Biomarker, als auch von bereits bestehenden – nicht bei Krebstherapien verwendeten – Medikamenten. Gelagert werden die Zellen bei ca. minus 196° Celsius in speziellen Kryo-Stickstoff-Tanks. Gemeinsam mit Professor Martin Michaelis, der seit 2011 an der University of Kent (Canterbury, UK) und seit 2023 auch (wieder) im Interdisziplinären Labor im Dr. Petra Joh-Haus der Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder arbeitet, erforscht er an den resistenten Krebszelllinien die Ursachen der Resistenzen und neue Behandlungsmöglichkeiten.

Außer den Arbeitsgruppen von Professor Cinatl und Professor Michaelis nutzen weltweit mehr als 120 akademischen und kommerziellen Institutionen Zellen der RCCL Collection. Hierzu zählen u.a. das Broad Institute, das Sanger Institute, das deutsche Krebsforschungszentrum, das Institute for Cancer Research in Großbritannien und das Karolinska-Institut in Schweden, sowie große pharmazeutische Unternehmen wie z.B. Ely Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, AbbVie, Servier und Merck. Dadurch ermöglicht die RCCL Collection Forschung in zahlreichen Arbeitsgruppen auf der ganzen Welt, die ohne sie nicht möglich wäre.

Das Interdisziplinäre Labor für Tumor- und Virusforschung – Wie alles begann (Teil 1/4)

Kontakt

Frankfurter Stiftung
für krebskranke Kinder

Komturstraße 3a
60528 Frankfurt

Tel. 069 678665-0
Fax 069 678665-94

info@kinderkrebsstiftung-frankfurt.de

Spendenkonto

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE43 5005 0201 1245 6354 40
SWIFT-BIC: HELADEF1822

Charity-Shopping

Aus jedem Online-Einkauf eine gute Tat machen und die Frankfurter Stiftung für krebskranke Kinder unterstützen. Über Gooding geht das ganz einfach.

Gooding

So funktioniert Gooding:
Jubiläumslogo